Line-up confirmed for first BBC election debate

Getty Images Penny Mordaunt and Angela RaynerGetty Images
I show You how To Make Huge Profits In A Short Time With Cryptos!

The Conservative Cabinet minister Penny Mordaunt will face Labour’s deputy leader Angela Rayner

Penny Mordaunt and Angela Rayner will go head-to-head in the first BBC election debate on Friday night, featuring representatives from the seven biggest parties in Great Britain.

The Leader of the House of Commons and deputy leader of the Labour Party will be joined by Daisy Cooper for the Liberal Democrats and Nigel Farage on behalf of Reform UK.

Stephen Flynn will appear for the Scottish National Party, the Green Party will be represented by co-leader Carla Denyer and Plaid Cymru by leader Rhun ap Iorwerth.

The line-up

Conservative Party: Penny Mordaunt

Labour Party: Angela Rayner

Scottish National Party: Stephen Flynn

Liberal Democrats: Daisy Cooper

Green Party: Carla Denyer

Reform Party: Nigel Farage

Plaid Cymru: Rhun ap Iorwerth

Presented by Mishal Husain, the debate will be broadcast from 19:30 BST to 21:00 on Friday 7 June on BBC One and BBC News in the UK.

During the face-off, members of the public and audience will be given the opportunity to ask questions to the participants.

At the end of the debate each of the participants will be invited to give a 30-second closing statement.

The debate kicks off a series of BBC programmes covering the election.

Getty Images, PA Media Daisy Cooper from the Lib Dems, the SNP's Stephen Flynn, Carla Denyer from the Green Party, Rhun ap Iorwerth from Plaid Cymru and Nigel Farage from Reform UK will also appear on the debateGetty Images, PA Media

Daisy Cooper from the Lib Dems, the SNP’s Stephen Flynn, Carla Denyer from the Green Party, Rhun ap Iorwerth from Plaid Cymru and Nigel Farage from Reform UK will also take part in Friday’s debate

On 20 June, the leaders of the country’s four biggest political parties will be involved in a two-hour Question Time programme presented by Fiona Bruce.

Sophie Raworth will then moderate a debate between the prime minister and the Labour leader on the 26 June, which is likely to be the final head to head clash between Rishi Sunak and Sir Keir Starmer before polling day.

There will be additional dedicated debates in Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales.

Nick Robinson has also invited each of the leaders of the seven biggest political parties to be interviewed for Panorama specials across the next four weeks.

All of the programmes will be broadcast on BBC One, BBC News, local radio across the country and will be available on BBC iPlayer.

British Sign Language and subtitles will feature on the two leader debates and the Question Time special, as well as throughout the election night.

There will also be full live online coverage.

More information about the BBC’s approach to debates during the election period is available by clicking here.

The election takes place on 4 July.

Upcoming TV events

A number of other events have been scheduled to take place in the weeks following Friday’s clash. The line-ups are as follows:

  • Leaders’ Special Event (Sky): Wednesday 12 June – While the exact format is not yet clear, Sky News has said Rishi Sunak and Sir Keir Starmer will be asked to “pitch” to voters in an in-depth interview before answering questions from the audience, in an event to be broadcast from 19:00-22:00
  • Multi-party debate (ITV): Thursday 13 June – Julie Etchingham will moderate a debate between leaders or senior representatives from the Conservative Party, Labour Party, Liberal Democrats, SNP, Reform UK, Green Party and Plaid Cymru from 20:30-22:00
  • Question Time Leaders’ Special (BBC): Thursday 20 June, York – Fiona Bruce will present the show involving leaders of the four biggest political parties in Great Britain, broadcast from 20:00-22:00
  • Head-to-head debate (BBC): Wednesday 26 June, Nottingham – Sophie Raworth will host the event involving Rishi Sunak and Sir Keir Starmer. This is set to be the last TV debate of the election campaign and will be broadcast from 21:00-22:00
General election graphic

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.